Why does God allow pain and suffering to exist in this world?

Why does God allow pain and suffering to exist in this world?

One of my good friends recently posted the following thoughts, “People sometimes wonder why God would allow so much suffering in our world. Maybe instead we should be wondering why we do.” A lot of people, including myself, have asked this same exact question countless times. To be honest, it has even shaken my faith at times, as well. Although I have never lost faith in God, there have been occasions when I have questioned my faith wondering if God was truly real or not. I think every Follower of Christ has experienced this same scenario at least once in his/ her lifetime.

These are just my feelings on the subject and you may or may not agree.

I think in order to fully understand where suffering came from we must start from the beginning of creation. I won’t go into great detail, just basic information.

Image

When Adam and Eve were created they had everything. There was no pain, no suffering, and no sin in the world at all. It was perfect, almost too good to be true. God had only one rule for them to follow, “You can have and eat anything you want, but you cannot eat from the tree of knowledge of good and evil” (Genesis 2). One day they decided to eat the fruit from the tree which caused pain, suffering, and sin to enter this world.

Why would they eat the fruit from this tree if they had everything and knew they were not supposed to? We have every right to be mad at them and blame them for all this pain and suffering going on in this world.

However, what if we thought about pain and suffering in a totally different perspective? What if we could believe that pain and suffering could actually have a positive outcome? This is going to rock your world when you finally comprehend this thought process! It did for me at least

After reading my friends post, a totally different view came to mind. If there was no pain, no suffering, and no sin in this world we most likely would not know what love is. The reason I say that is because of the saying, “you never really appreciate what you have, until it is gone.” It is a somewhat twisted concept, but it can definitely be applied to this thought process.

This may confuse some of you, but stick with me!

If bad things never happened in this world would we actually know how good God is and how much He truly loves us? Would we actually understand the importance of our need for God? My guess is no.

What if we went back to the cross? Why did Jesus have to die on the cross for us? In my personal walk with Jesus I have learned that Jesus died for us so that we may have life and strength in the midst of all the pain and suffering this world brings us. He did it so that we may have a way to see good in the midst of evil and darkness in this world.

There are many more reasons He did it, but for now let’s just focus on pain and suffering.

If there was no pain, no suffering, and no sin in this world there would have been no reason for Jesus to die on the cross for us. Personally, when I think about that it gives me chills because it just shows how good God is and how much he truly truly loves us.

I know that it is hard and sometimes impossible to even believe that God is there for us and that He is good, but I encourage you to remember that this world is not our home. If you have no idea what I am talking about or what I mean then I would encourage you to learn more about the importance of Jesus coming and dying on the cross.

Have you ever thought about how much pain and suffering Jesus had to experience to redeem us? He paid the price so that He could buy us out of this painful and dark world. This is just a temporary place for us until He comes! Until that time, pain and suffering will continue in our lives and throughout the world, so this is why we need to keep our eyes on God.

He will remind us and help us to see good in the midst of bad. I have learned to see it every morning I wake up even when my world is falling apart at times. I just go back to the cross and the truth about what Jesus says in his word, “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39).

That is the truth so hold on to it. Especially when pain and suffering comes our way and tries to bring us down, hurt us, and destroy us. Just remind yourself of the importance of Jesus in your life

Isaiah 41: 10

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

2 thoughts on “Why does God allow pain and suffering to exist in this world?

  1. wow awesome. I have often wondered why we are so quick to always blame GOD when there is bad or evil in our world. We have an enemy who comes to steal , kill and destroy us. Sometimes we have pain due to our own poor choices but through it all, it is awesome to know that The GOD we blame most of the time is the one who truly understands our pain and our need to be loved and comforted by HIM. He had to watch HIS SON beaten, mocked and crucified and yet do nothing to stop it even though HE could have all because HE loves us and HIS SON loves us too. Run to GOD with your hurts and pain. HE knows the remedy to heal and restore you. Trust HIM and HE will set you free of it all.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I do agree with you. I mean I can totally understand why we (being human being) blame God at times for things that happen either in our lives, to people we know and love, and around the world. It is because our eyes and hearts are not set on Jesus, it is blinded by this world and what this world says is the norm. Which the norm is to blame God. “If he is a good God then why does He allow bad things and sin to exist?” This is a question we will never fully grasp or understand. However, instead of spending so much time focusing on the negatives maybe we should try to find the positives in the situation even if it might seem impossible. That is where faith and trust in a God who is bigger then any situation, struggle, pain, or suffering we go through comes into play. If we just trust Him and hold onto Him He will bring us out of any situation we may face or go through. I could go on all day about Him lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

